What’s in a name?

“What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet;”
– William Shakespeare, “Romeo and Juliet” (Act 2, Scene 2)

Now that I had my new scooter, she needed a name.  Her predecessor, the Buddy 50, was dubbed Fanta.  Her bright orange color just reminded me of the Fanta soda commercials.

Now, Fanta Orange was apparently named Kiki, but that didn’t seem to fit, so the 50 was given then name Fanta and I can tell that jingle was in my head most everytime I rode that bike.

Anyways, a new bike needs a new name, much like a guitar needs a name.  In the case of my two guitars, I let the instrument dictate what she wanted to be called and merely responded.  In the case of my beloved Fender strat, she was named after my great-grandmother Matilda; I also just really like that name.  I usually call her Millie.  My Gibson SG is named Lilith (shortened to Lilly) because she gave me hell when I was setting her up.

The scooter has gone nameless for a couple weeks now as I ride around and get to know her better.  Unlike some of my peers, I know I will get attached to this particular bike and not ever feel the need to sell her off or trade her in on a new (or vintage) model.  When I make an appreciable investment in things, they’re with me for the long haul.  I don’t usually allow myself to grow attached to most things, but over the years, my guitars (especially Matilda), a few books (such as my leatherbound Lord of the Rings), and a couple records (like Submachine’s “Mindless Device” 7″) have become a part of me and serve as concrete reminders of who I am outside of my actual self.  I knew from the get go that this scooter would be such a thing.

At any rate, while riding home from work last week, one name popped into my head over and over: Felicia.  My wife is utterly convinced that I named her after Guy Pearce’s character in Priscillia, Queen of the Desert. 

You can’t do that with a ping pong ball!

It’s certainly possible that was a small influence, but one could say the same thing about Angela Means Kaaya’s character Felisha (yes, with the -sh-) from Friday.

Can I borrow y’all VCR?

Both films left quite an impression on me.  Who’s to say?  Regardless, Felicia she was dubbed.  She’s sassy, she’s finnicky, she’s a workhorse, and she’s my scooter.

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

